The Start of My Calligraphy Journey

art, calligraphy
It was the summer of last year when I realized calligraphy will be my one true love. And speaking of true love, they say that when you commit to something, you have to make sure that your decision will be final because sometimes, love is a matter of a permanent decision. With calligraphy, I was 120% sure that this is something I know I will never get tired of doing.

While I was in Canada last year, I was bored out of my wits and I didn’t know what to do. I wanted to do something creative but I knew I wasn’t that imaginative so I denied myself the chance to explore the things that I could do. Instagram was life saver and so I just browsed and browsed through my feed and the explore button. It wasn’t long until I saw ate Gail’s instagram account with a number of videos and photos of her calligraphy. I was impressed. But that was it. Until I saw other accounts that does calligraphy which eventually still directed me to ate Gail’s ig. I started watching her videos…over and over and over and over again. I kept looking at her photos (stalker much? lol) and then eventually commented on one of her works. I was surprised when she replied and even offered to help if I needed any. Because of ate Gail, I decided to practice on my own.

At first I would just copy all the letters thinking that it would help. I was like this for about a few months and I didn’t improve (teehee). But I didn’t regret it. I was just enjoying the moment. And then I stopped for a couple of months.
Recently, I started writing again, and once and for all, I decided to start doing drills and searching online for techniques and the proper way to do it. Thanks to ate Gail’s videos and photos on ig, she’s made it easier. So I wanna say thank you to ate Gail for positing advices and short tutorials on calligraphy! πŸ˜€ Getting there isn’t easy, it’s a lot of hard work and like what ate Gail always writes on her ig, patience, patience, patience.
Ciao!
3 thoughts on “The Start of My Calligraphy Journey

  1. Hi nix! Awww. That's so sweet!! Thank you! I will post soon πŸ™‚ i have a whole bunch that's piling up. Lol. You can get basic supplies from kinokuniya. Some came from the US πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Pingback: COPPERPLATE / 1 |

Leave a Reply

