CALLIGRAPHY / 1

art, calligraphy, Uncategorized

image5.jpeg

Hello guys! Welcome to my calligraphy journey. Every week I’m going to bombard your feed with the progress of my calligraphy; and if you want to join in, please do! It’ll be fun to see enthusiasts like me who wants to start out with the art of letters.

If you want to know how I was first inspired to start out with calligraphy, you can read my post here.

You must be wondering why I’m doing this. I’ve been procrastinating for so many months with calligraphy and I’m not proud of it. This time, I’m going to really push myself harder because as cliche as it may sound, if you really want to do something and be successful at it, you have to give it your all and make time to do it! I believe that this will help me push myself beyond my potential and eventually be able to make progress through constant practice.

Moving on, you need to set your mind on a few things before you start calligraphy.

  1. Patience because letter forms take time. When I first started I would copy letters because I wanted to learn quickly. The thing is, you need to learn the basics first. It’s going to be frustrating at first because you’ll see that they won’t go the way you want them to; and also because they’ll look really ugly. But be patient. It takes patience and mistakes and ugly beginnings to create something beautiful.
  2. Perseverance. Don’t be discouraged when you don’t get it at first. There are calligraphers and letterers I know who took years before they perfected their craft. So just keep pushing. No one made it successful by giving up just because something looked ugly.
  3. Time. You have to make time for calligraphy. It doesn’t matter how much you make for it but you have to. As what ate Nina of Anintran said, even if it’s 10-15 mins of calligraphy, it’s important to make every minute count.
  4. Take it slow. As I said earlier, calligraphy takes time. Remember that your goal here is to take it slow to create precise letters. There will be times where you’ll feel frustrated, it’s normal at first, so shake it off. Trust me, I also felt frustrated at first because I wanted to learn quickly; but really the trick there is to take it slow to learn and perfect your craft 🙂

Now that we have those noted down, stay tuned for my next post where I’ll share with you the materials you need, where to get them, and how to prepare 🙂

❤ Bianca

 

3 thoughts on “CALLIGRAPHY / 1

Leave a Reply

